Can the warlock's One with Shadows eldritch invocation be used at will in a Ravenloft game?

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

The GM describes that the lands of Barovia barely see any sunlight. Does that qualify as dim light where One With Shadows can be very used at will?

If it can be, is this ability overpowered compared to other invocations in a Ravenloft game?

You still can't use the Invocation under certain circumstances

From the chapter 2, Lands of Barovia (CoS spoilers, emphasis mine):

Even during the day, the sky is dimmed by fog or storm clouds, or the light is strangely muted. Barovian daylight is bright light, yet it isn't considered sunlight for the purpose of effects and vulnerabilities, such as a vampire's, tied to sunlight.

Other than the information above, all the normal rules for illumination apply in Barovia as usual. The rules for vision and light specify 3 distinct categories of illumination:

The presence or absence of light in an environment creates three categories of illumination: bright light, dim light, and darkness.

Since the invocation requires "an area of dim light or darkness" this is not always the case in Barovia.

  • This is where the part of ducking behind a shadow big enough to cover the PC enough to trigger the Invocation? – Jhyarelle Silver Aug 10 at 19:26
  • 1
    @JhyarelleSilver That is completely independent of being in Barovia, though, isn't it? This answers the question on whether the Invocation can be used "always" which is no. – Sdjz Aug 10 at 19:28
  • You may also want to reference the general rules on vision and light, specifically as they relate to dim light and darkness. – V2Blast Aug 10 at 20:07
  • @V2Blast: Thanks that should help as it might shed some light in whether hiding in a large enough shadow counts as dim light. – Jhyarelle Silver Aug 10 at 20:45
  • 3
    @JhyarelleSilver To be honest I think the question "Is a shadow enough to count as dim light to use One with Shadows?" is a question that has nothing to do with Barovia and I think you could ask it separately if the rules on vision and light linked by V2Blast are not enough. You'd probably get a more thorough explanation than what I can provide on that particular point. – Sdjz Aug 10 at 21:05

Your Answer

 
discard

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.