Can a deity use the Life And Death ability even if it is not in his Salient Divine Abilities list and his portfolio does not have the relevant Suggested Portfolio elements, like in this particular case Death or Supreme?

Assume that the Prerequisites for this ability are respected. (Deity has rank higher than 6 and has one of the prerequisite abilities in his list of salient divine abilities.)

  • It would be easier for us to edit the question and make it more understandable if you could tell us which deity you are talking about. Also it is difficult to answer for certain, as two things you have written appear contradictory: You say "not in his Salient Divine Abilities" in the first sentence, but than say " have one of this ability in his Salient Divine Abilities list" at the end. – ZwiQ Aug 10 at 19:49
  • Right, to clarify about misunderstanding, the deity have no Life And Death ability, but have Hand of Death which is prerequisites to have ability in question. Thor is a good example i think. – Marader Aug 10 at 20:46
up vote 1 down vote accepted

According to the SRD:

A deity has one salient divine ability for each divine rank the deity has, plus additional salient divine abilities reflecting its status: Demigods receive one bonus ability, lesser deities receive two bonus abilities, intermediate deities receive three, and greater deities receive five.

Only if Life and Death is amongst the list of salient divine abilities, the deity can use this ability. In order for this ability to be amongst the salient abilities list, the deity must be of rank 6 or higher and Gift of Life or Hand of Death must also be amongst the salient abilities as well.

Suggested Portfolio elements are what the name implies: suggestions. Quoting:

The information is provided as guidance and should not be taken as a rule.

Note that Death portfolio is NOT needed to use the Life and Death ability; but its presence would make the ability more potent (the deity would not need to rest after using the ability).

  • 1
    Okay, i think it's pretty much answer my question. If it's not in deity Salient Divine Abilities list then he can't use it, even if he fulfil all prerequisites. In Thor's case because all his Salient Divine Abilities already occupied. – Marader Aug 10 at 20:57

Your Answer

 
discard

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.