9
\$\begingroup\$

If you enlarge a paladin (so that they take up 2x2 squares on a grid), what point does their aura's radius start at?

For Medium/Small creatures (who take up a 1x1 square on a grid), it radiates from one of the corners of the square. For Large creatures, is it still at one of the corners of the 2x2 square, at the intersection at the center of one of the sides of the creature's space, or at the intersection at the center of the creature's space?

Additional info:

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Technically, you could generalize this question to ask about the point of origin of any (paladin) aura - whether it starts at the center of your space, or at the edge of your space. An answer to that question would ostensibly apply no matter your size. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 11 '18 at 0:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Point of origin is always at corner: sageadvice.eu/2016/03/01/… \$\endgroup\$ – James Aug 11 '18 at 0:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ Paladin aura works the same way: sageadvice.eu/2016/03/02/grid-and-auras \$\endgroup\$ – James Aug 11 '18 at 0:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ You should cite those sources for your claims in the text of your question itself. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 11 '18 at 0:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @James it may be prudent to edit those links into your question if they are a source of confusion for you. Or, if you think they resolve your question, then please do a self answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Pyrotechnical Aug 11 '18 at 0:50
16
\$\begingroup\$

Paladin auras "originate" from their entire space, so the radius extends from the edge of their space

In this case, Mike Mearls' interpretation in your second link is incorrect (or at least misleading).

All of the paladin auras don't specify a "point" of origin; instead, they merely specify that certain effects apply to creatures "within 10 feet of you". (At 18th level, the range of your auras increases to 30 feet.) In essence, it's an "area of origin" rather than a single point.

For instance, the Aura of Protection states:

Starting at 6th level, whenever you or a friendly creature within 10 feet of you must make a saving throw, the creature gains a bonus to the saving throw equal to your Charisma modifier (with a minimum bonus of +1). You must be conscious to grant this bonus.

The Aura of Courage says:

Starting at 10th level, you and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you can’t be frightened while you are conscious.

(Most of the subclass options also grant their own auras at 7th level.)

Logically speaking, it would make no sense to say that a creature right next to a Large or Huge creature is not "within 10 feet of it". Thus, an aura is an effect that does not have a point of origin; it originates from you and your space as a whole.

Jeremy Crawford, official rules designer for 5e, addresses a question about the area/range of a 10-foot paladin aura here on Twitter:

Which is correct representing the area of paladin aura (10 ft)?

Is each square 5 ft., and which aura are you talking about?

Yes, each square is 5 ft. I meant Aura of Protection and Aura of Courage. Thanks.

Aura of Protection/Courage extends 10 ft. all around. (None are correct, unless your circles are polygons.)

In that example image:

  • option A treats the aura as if it originates from the center of the creature's space
  • option B treats it as if it were a spell, originating from a corner of the grid adjacent to the creature
  • option C treats it as if it extends from the edge of the creature's space, but inaccurately depicts the circular aura

Crawford's response suggests that C is the closest to being correct, but is wrong because of the way it depicts the area of the aura as a polygon instead of a circle.

(Also, even if the DM did decide to have the aura be square instead of circular since they're playing on a grid, the diagonals in C are too short.)

This interpretation is further supported by Jeremy Crawford's reasoning here as to why the centaur and minotaur playable races (from Unearthed Arcana: Centaurs and Minotaurs) should mechanically remain Medium like all other playable races instead of Large:

Visualizing one of @JeremyECrawford's reasons why Centaur and Minotaur should not be Large PCs: a 5' aura is 50% bigger and a 10' aura is 33% bigger.

Medium creature auras vs. Large creature auras

That's exactly right.

Is it safe to assume we shouldn’t expect Large PC races?

Yep.


In short: Paladin auras extend from the edge of the paladin's space, not from any individual point.

For a Medium creature, a 10-foot aura is a circle over a 5x5 area on a grid (with 5-foot squares); for a Large creature, that same aura is a circle over a 6x6 area on the grid.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

The aura's origin is your character and the space(s) he occupies.

Say for instance you are talking about Aura of Protection, and the Paladin was enlarged by an Enlarge/Reduce Spell, he would take up 2x2 squares of space.

His own body being the source of the aura, he is affected by it as well as every ally within 10ft of him.

D&D relying on a grid representation, and each square by default being 5ft, his aura, in large state of 2x2 squares, would be of 6x6 squares which represents a 10ft radius around him.

If you were to do the sum of squares affected by the aura in medium vs large state, including the paladin himself you would have

  • Medium size(1x1): 10ft Aura = 5x5 (25 squares) with the center 1x1 square being the origin so effectively 24 squares of potential allies affected.
  • Large size(2x2): 10ft Aura = 6x6 (36 squares) with the center 2x2 squares being the origin so effectively 32 squares of potential allies affected.

To sum it up, the aura's will affect allies within 10ft of the squares occupied by the source.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean to say that the Paladin's own space is not actually affected by his aura? \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer Aug 11 '18 at 8:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You're right, that's not what I mean to say. He is of course affected by his own aura. \$\endgroup\$ – Louis Aug 11 '18 at 14:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.