0
\$\begingroup\$

Can you apply vampiric touch and shocking grasp damage together in one attack?

Vampiric touch has concentrated duration of 1 minute and requires melee spell attack to deliver.

Shocking grasp requires a melee spell attack.

Can you deliver both effects at the same time with the same attack roll?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there a reason you think this can be done? \$\endgroup\$ Aug 11 '18 at 1:36
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The "so does Shocking Grasp" is ambiguous - while we can easily look for the spell description, the way you wrote it is not clear if you are referring to both the concentration and requiring a MSA or just the MSA (the latter is the correct one for the spell). \$\endgroup\$
    – HellSaint
    Aug 11 '18 at 1:44
15
\$\begingroup\$

Generally, no.

Both require an action. For shocking grasp to deal damage, you need to cast it using the Cast a Spell action. Its casting time is 1 Action.

The description of vampiric touch states:

Until the spell ends, you can make the attack again on each of your turns as an action.

You only have one action, thus only one of them can be cast per turn. You might be confused thinking that vampiric touch replaces your melee attack or that when you attack its effect would activate - but that's not the case. You have to use your action to specifically attack with vampiric touch.

One exception would be using Action Surge as a multiclass Fighter/Wizard and casting both spells using two separate actions. That's probably not what you intended, though, since you ask on the same attack roll as well (and that would be impossible since these are two different actions making different attacks).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.