1
\$\begingroup\$

Let’s assume I'm playing a Shadow Dancer, epic level 70 or so. If I summon my shadow, can I polymorph it? If so, what are the limitations: can I polymorph it to be me and have a "doppelganger" of sorts? Would I still have control?

I had a fun idea of having a sort of “clone”, but one that acts as a completely commanded version under my control.

\$\endgroup\$

closed as too broad by Purple Monkey, V2Blast, Thomas Jacobs, Miniman, SevenSidedDie Aug 11 '18 at 17:03

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ It seems like you're asking several different questions here... I'm going to edit out the 5e-related sections for now, and the question of conversion to 5e can be asked separately (it seems dependent on it working in 3.5e to begin with). That said, the multiple tags are confusing as well; is your original question about 3.5e, or Pathfinder? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 11 '18 at 11:04
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Take the tour! There are probably spells and magic items sufficient in 3.5 to enable polymorph to be used on a shadow, but I don't want anyone's research in that direction wasted if this is really a Pathfinder question. Please modify the question's tags appropriately. Thank you for participating and have fun! \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 11 '18 at 14:07
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ The rules for polymorphing in D&D 3.5e and Pathfinder are sufficiently different that I think we're going to need you to pick one or the other. What game are you actually playing? \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Aug 11 '18 at 17:03
2
\$\begingroup\$

No

The description of Polymorph includes the following sections:

Target: Willing living creature touched

Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to being polymorphed...

The description of a Shadow in 3.5e (MM p221) categorises it as:

Medium undead (incorporeal)

The Polymorph spell simply cannot target the Shadowdancer's summoned Shadow, because it is not a valid target.

This principle is extended to all Polymorph-type spells in the discussion of these on page 96 of PHB II:

Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to polymorph spells, as are creatures of the plant type.

I suggest that polymorphing a shadow would be a sub-optimal strategy even if your GM house-ruled an exception. If you want something that looks like a clone of you under your control then there are much easier ways - the Seeming spell could be cast on your Shadow, or polymorph a familiar, animal companion or hireling.

This answer addresses 3.5e rather than Pathfinder based on the title text of the question.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.