26
\$\begingroup\$

The warlock's One with Shadows eldritch invocation presents an interesting opportunity: it gives you invisibility without requiring concentration. Specifically (PHB, p. 111):

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

Unlike the invisibility spell, this would not necessarily end if the warlock became unconscious. However, the wording that says that this spell ends if you "move or take an action or a reaction" seems to imply that this invisibility is usually intended to last for a very short duration.

But it occurred to me that outside of combat, people often don't do much that technically requires an action, especially if they are at rest. And at other times, it has been indicated that "moving" (for the purpose of magical triggers) refers to moving in the sense of spending movement to change your location on a 2D grid (not becoming prone, or standing up from prone).

So I was wondering: could a warlock use an action to Hide1, then use the One with Shadows invocation to become invisible, then simply lie down and go to sleep for 8 hours (for a long rest), while remaining invisible (and likely hidden)?

Put another way: is there some action, reaction, or move required during a long rest?


1 I included the part about Hiding because according to the rules as written, an unhidden creature that is invisible is still apparent to creatures around it (it can't be seen, but they know where it is). So I wanted to include the hiding part to avoid that argument. And I did so beforehand, because using the Hide action while invisible would break the invisibility.

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

This should work, if it's the last thing you do before going to sleep.

Outside of combat, we typically don't account for actions, but this invocation would require keeping track of whether you do something that would be an action. For example, you can eat during a rest, but that would use an action if done in combat, so it would break the invisibility (because the magic doesn't care whether you call it an action).

However, if the warlock goes into an enclosed, dark space, lies down, invokes the magic, and then goes to sleep, yeah, they can be invisible until waking up.

A caveat about doing this during a short rest

(not actually the question, but it seems relevant)

The short rest rules mention "tending to wounds" as a possible activity, and allow regaining hit points by spending Hit Dice, but don't actually say that you have to tend to your wounds to regain hit points. I would argue that the rules imply that wound care is an expected part of resting, and if you insist on spending the entire rest invisible instead of caring for your wounds, you can't spend Hit Dice. But depending on how your table treats the rules, and on how you interpret hit points, this could go either way.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you implying that you need to tend to wounds in order to regain hit points from a long rest? You make a good point about short rests, but the question was specifically about long rests. \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Aug 11 '18 at 21:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oddly, the long rest rules don't mention wound care at all. They also don't involve spending Hit Dice, so there's an implication that you don't have to do any work to regain hit points during a long rest; it just happens. It's still very unclear what exactly it means to spend Hit Dice, but whatever it is, it's not as effective as simply sleeping off the fatigue. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Aug 11 '18 at 21:20
-1
\$\begingroup\$

Because it's limited to light conditions, then as long as you don't move, you can keep invisibility outside of combat actions. It's not the Invisibility spell, you gain the invisible condition.

A long rest that didn't require moving would not affect the invisibility. As long as you remain in low light and do not move, this condition could continue indefinitely.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you quote the relevant parts of the links you provided? Also I'm not sure how the concentration applies to the question. \$\endgroup\$ – NeutralTax Jan 16 at 20:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ They are tweets so they copy very poorly, and I don't think a screen grab meets copyright requirements. It looks like this: Can I start a short rest while keeping concentration on a spell like Hex? SEPTEMBER 20, 2014ZOLTAR Igor Ruffinengo @ IgorRuffinengo · Sep 19, 2014 @ mikemearls Howdy, Mike! Just one question: can I start a short rest while keeping concentration on a spell like Hex? Thank you! Mike Mearls @ mikemearls @ IgorRuffinengo as long as you don't sleep \$\endgroup\$ – Tiger Guy Jan 16 at 20:52
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm still unsure how the concentration applies to the question. \$\endgroup\$ – NeutralTax Jan 16 at 20:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ Concentration because another answer references it. I can't comment on other posts. \$\endgroup\$ – Tiger Guy Jan 16 at 20:55
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ All of this information is accurate, but I’m not sure why you mentioned short rests here, as the question is concerned with long rests. \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Jan 16 at 21:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.