12
\$\begingroup\$

I can't seem to find anything that contradicts this.

The description of the wish spell says:

The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.

Can I use wish to cast any spell available in the game, regardless of its availability on my spell list or whether I have it prepared?

\$\endgroup\$
29
\$\begingroup\$

Wish can duplicate any other spell, even one not on your list

You've quoted the important part yourself:

The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. 

There are no qualifications or restrictions to this statement beyond what is said here. As long as it is 8th level or lower you can call any spell.

If there were any further restrictions it would say so in the spell description.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.