14
\$\begingroup\$

Consider the spell true polymorph. If you turn a creature into a creature, the new creature

retains its alignment and personality.

If you turn an object into a creature

The creature is friendly to you and your companions.

An object typically has neither personality nor alignment, so that isn't normally an issue.

However, a sentient weapon is an object (per Sage Advice), and does have personality and alignment.

If you cast true polymorph to turn a sentient, neutral evil greatsword into a creature, does the creature retain the sword's alignment and personality?

Which could imply that it is not friendly.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This commentary by Jeremy Crawford would help your question to avoid some contention about whether a sentient magic item counts as an object. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Aug 11 '18 at 22:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron Sorry, I'm not clear on what you mean. Crawford's tweet says that a sentient magic item is an object, which is what I said. \$\endgroup\$ – Kevin Aug 11 '18 at 22:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ I know. You are right, I was just saying you could add it to your question if you wanted so it's less likely someone doubts your statement that it is. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Aug 11 '18 at 22:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron Ohhhh. Good idea! \$\endgroup\$ – Kevin Aug 11 '18 at 22:39
28
\$\begingroup\$

The first sentence in the description of true polymorph says "Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range." Based on this, I don't think it's possible to cast true polymorph on a sentient weapon, as all sentient weapons are magical objects (as far as I know—I couldn't find anything that actually states this outright, but as V2Blast pointed out in a comment, the DMG covers item sentience in the section "Sentient Magic Items" starting on p. 214, and it appears to use the terms "sentient magic items" and "sentient items" interchangeably).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Eeyup. I completely missed that! \$\endgroup\$ – Kevin Aug 12 '18 at 0:32
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ You might want to cite the DMG to support the statement that sentient weapons are magical; they appear in the "Sentient Magic Items" section starting on DMG p. 214. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 12 '18 at 0:34
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast: Thanks. I haven't found anything that actually unambiguously states "all sentient weapons are magical" or "no non-magical weapon is sentient" ("Some magic items possess sentience and personality" doesn't logically imply that no non-magic items possess sentience and personality), but that definitely seems to be the intended situation. \$\endgroup\$ – sumelic Aug 12 '18 at 0:46
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Oooh, now I want a story like that... An evil sword turned dictator! Since it's impossible with basic spells, it can become a major plot point \$\endgroup\$ – Misamoto Aug 17 '18 at 13:19
7
\$\begingroup\$

RAW: No.

True Polymorph states:

If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, [...] It retains its alignment and personality.

A sentient weapon is not a creature, as stated in your own question and Crawford's tweet. So, the "if" in this statement is false, thus it simply doesn't apply.

What you are doing is turning an Object into Creature. The fact that it is sentient does not change that it is an object, and thus does not change which section of the spell applies.

Rules as DM wants

But this is a quite edgy case, and a DM might rule otherwise. If you are the DM, you are free to change this interpretation as you want and make the new creature retain the personality from before. If you are a player, ask your DM before casting the spell to check what is his ruling on this.


As pointed out by sumelic, you can't even cast true polymorph on a sentient weapon, since TP states

Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range.

And I don't think there is a nonmagical sentient object.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth updating to address what @sumelic's answer points out: sentient weapons are magical. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 12 '18 at 0:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ One other thing, I've seen Jeremy Crawford comment that it is best to treat a sentient weapon as a construct in some circumstances, rather than an object -- but V2Blast is right in pointing out @sumelic's answer is the correct one. \$\endgroup\$ – J. A. Streich Aug 12 '18 at 2:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @J.A.Streich I'm not sure the context you read it. I've never seen anything similar to that, and his official answer can be found here: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/820091935868133376. A construct is a creature type. Sentient magic items do not have that type on them. Actually, they have none, thus "A sentient magic item has none of those types. It's an object. " \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint Aug 12 '18 at 2:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @J.A.Streich Also, if you treat the weapon as a construct, thus as a creature, sumelic's answer becomes wrong as well, since you would be targetting a creature (which can be as magical as you want). \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint Aug 12 '18 at 2:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ The issue is Jeremy Crawford didn't give it as an official rules answer, he said something along the lines of "sometimes it is useful to treat sentient weapons as constructs". My comment was written in haste, and rereading it seems to over state what was said. I'll look to see if I can find the tweet I'm recalling. \$\endgroup\$ – J. A. Streich Aug 12 '18 at 2:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.