19
\$\begingroup\$

I just began a campaign with the pre-gen characters from the WotC page, and we can't explain some stats.

One of them is this Drow Rogue STR modifier. As it has STR 8, it should be -1 instead of 0, and I don't understand why.

Could you shed some light on this, please? We're new at this and we'd like to grasp these kinds of details :)

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

28
\$\begingroup\$

It seems to be a mistake in the file. There is nothing special going on that I can see, so the number is likely just wrong. I don't know of any rule in the game that would be able to change an attribute modifier.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ There are a couple of mistakes in the files, I can't remember what else I found - but entering the base stats into an auto-calculating sheet and it gave different numbers in at least two cases, and I only did 1st, 5th and 10th levels... \$\endgroup\$
    – Rycochet
    Commented Aug 15, 2018 at 11:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ Looks like WotC needs to hire some rules lawyers! \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 15, 2018 at 19:22
8
\$\begingroup\$

In addition to Erik's answer, I would like to confirm that the mistake is in the (+0) indeed. It could be that the mistake was at the 8 STR instead, but it follows that: 15 Charisma, 14 Dex, 13 Int, 12 Wis, 10 Con and 8 STR give you exactly the standard array. The +2 Dex, +1 Cha from Drow then puts it into 16 Dex, 16 Cha, and finally the +2 ASI from 4th level make it go up to 18 Cha.

That's to say: The attributes are correct - the modifier is not. As mentioned by Erik, neither Rogues, Drows or the magic items listed are able to do anything about the modifier, so it's most likely an error.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Someone on Reddit suggested they did it on purpose to avoid a starter character having a negative modifier. Not sure if that's true or not. Regardless, DnDBeyond doesn't seem to have an obvious way to override that modifier and I'd prefer to do it correctly anyway :) \$\endgroup\$
    – CatDadCode
    Commented Sep 11, 2018 at 6:07

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .