Warlocks and Sorcerers share Charisma as their spellcasting ability and both can use an arcane focus. The Rod of the Pact Keeper is a focus for warlocks. Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a focus for both spell casting classes but without the extra abilities the rod give the warlock?

Yes.

Let's make a little checklist:

  • Requires Attunement by a Warlock. You are a warlock, check.
  • It's an arcane focus. Both of your classes can use an arcane focus, check.

There's no reason you wouldn't be able to use as an arcane focus for both classes since you have the only two requirements of the item. As you said, your sorcerer spells can't benefit from the bonus but the special ability only requires you to hold the rod, use an action and have a spent warlock spell slot.

Rod of the pact keeper isn't a spellcasting focus.

Here's the complete, current rules text for the rod of the pact keeper:

While holding this rod, you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls and to the saving throw DCs of your warlock spells. The bonus is determined by the rod’s rarity.

In addition, you can regain 1 warlock spell slot as an action while holding the rod. You can’t use this property again until you finish a long rest.

Nowhere does it say that the rod can be used as a spellcasting focus for any class.

  • 4
    Nor does any wand, but Jeremy Crawford said in the Sage Advice that every wand can be used as such. I believe the same applies to magical rods and staves. – Aguinaldo Silvestre Aug 18 at 8:45
  • 1
    While it would be a yes for the immovable rod, it is not true for a +1 quarterstaff. At least according to Mike Mearls. "A magic staff can be used as a quarterstaff, unless its text says otherwise (see DMG, 140). It is a magic weapon." - Jeremy Crawford - Sage Advice – Aguinaldo Silvestre Aug 18 at 8:55
  • 1
    I've put the link with Mike Mearls answer on his name before, I'll leave it here this time: sageadvice.eu/2018/03/22/… – Aguinaldo Silvestre Aug 18 at 9:04
  • 1
    @Marq That's because a +1 Quarterstaff isn't a Staff. A Rod of the Pact Keeper or Immovable Rod is still a Rod, so it should be able to be used as a spellcasting focus. – nick012000 Aug 18 at 9:16
  • 3
    @nick012000 My point is there is no written rules support for that. – Marq Aug 18 at 9:20

Your Answer

 
discard

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.