I'm the DM. During one of our games the party's Cavalier used Unwavering Mark on an enemy. Then the Ranger used hunter's mark (PHB, p. 251) on the same enemy.

The Cavalier's Unwavering Mark feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 30) says:

This effect ends early if you are incapacitated or you die, or if someone else marks the creature.

I ruled it as hunter's mark being a "mark" and therefore ending the effect of Unwavering Mark. However, we still are not sure if that is how it is supposed to work.

Is the "mark" the skill refers to another Unwavering Mark from another Cavalier, or does it refer to anything that "marks" a creature?


marked as duplicate by V2Blast, Aguinaldo Silvestre, HellSaint, user17995, Tiggerous Aug 19 '18 at 6:21

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.


They can both mark the same target simultaneously

Since these are two separate features, there's nothing to say that they can't both be active if two PCs use their marks on the same target. In fact, since one is a class feature and one is a spell, it would even be possible for the same PC to have both things simultaneously active against the same enemy if they had access to both (i.e. via multiclassing).

Although they serve a similar purpose and narratively seem similar, they are not the same thing, and a "mark" is not an established game term with any special meaning attached to it.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.