The feat Great Weapon Master (PHB, pg. 167) includes the following benefit:

On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit points with one, you can make one melee weapon attack as a bonus action.

If a PC with this feat (let's say they're no higher than level 4 as so not to complicate this question with Extra Attack) attacks and successfully hits, say, a druid who has Wild Shaped into a frog (1 hp), or they have been polymorphed into a frog. This attack will reduce the hp of the frog to 0. Let's assume the druid has enough hp to survive the remaining damage carried over to their normal form.

From polymorph (PHB, pg. 266):

If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn't reduce the creature's normal form to 0 hit points, it isn't knocked unconscious.

From Wild Shape (PHB, pg. 67):

However, if you revert as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to your normal form.

Does the PC with the Great Weapon Master feat get to attack again as a bonus action as per the first quote? They reduced the frog's hp to 0, but not the druid's.


1 Answer 1



You've provided all the relevant quotes that allow for it - there are two things that trigger on the same condition, the target reaching zero hit points, and there is no specification on which order they happen in. Great Weapon Master doesn't even require rendering the target unconscious, just bringing it to zero hit points.

In addition, Great Weapon Master feat does not specify who or what the bonus action attack has to be made against - character with Extra Attack would finish their normal routine (because they're in the middle of the Attack action) before moving on to the newly-available bonus action. If the feat said "a different creature", there might be some room for doubt, but it doesn't.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .