The silence spell description states:
For the duration, no sound can be created within or pass through a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range. Any creature or object entirely inside the sphere is immune to thunder damage, and creatures are deafened while entirely inside it. Casting a spell that includes a verbal component is impossible there.
The rules on readying a spell state:
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.
Marco the Warlock steps into a teleportation circle with an enemy alhoon hot on his heels. The alhoon decides to ready a disintegrate spell against the first creature it sees when it emerges from the teleportation circle. Meanwhile, Marco uses a magic item to cast silence centered on the other end of the teleportation circle immediately after he emerges. The alhoon steps through the circle and...
Does the alhoon disintegrate Marco because the spell was already cast and just being stored? Or does the alhoon lose the spell because he can no longer produce the verbal component?