Some magic items, like the Staff of the Magi, let you cast spells.

The Ring of Spell Storing lets you store spells for latter use (by yourself, or somebody else).

Can you store spells cast from magic items (such as a Staff of the Magi) in a Ring of Spell Storing?



You have to use a spell slot to store a spell in a Ring of Spell Storing. This is because:

The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses

This is backed up by Jeremy Crawford, lead designer, on Twitter:

[Querent:] Can you cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing from a wand?


[Crawford:] It requires a spell slot. A wand doesn't expend a spell slot.

|improve this answer|||||

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.