5
\$\begingroup\$

Level 18 Wild Magic sorcerers have the following feature (PHB, p. 103):

Spell Bombardment

Beginning at 18th level, when you roll damage for a spell and roll the highest number possible on any of the dice, choose one of those dice, roll it again and add that roll to the damage. You can use the feature only once per turn.

When you score a critical hit with an attack (even a spell attack), you double the amount of dice you roll.

Does the additional damage die from Spell Bombardment also get rolled twice on a critical hit?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

The extra damage from Spell Bombardment is a damage roll and is rolled twice on critical.

This is the same case with adding superiority dice to the damage roll when using a battle maneuver. The wording is similar:

Commander's Strike
[...] adding the superiority die to the attack's damage roll.

Disarming Attack
[...] You add the superiority die to the attack's damage roll, [...]

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.