My DM allowed me to create a tabaxi warlock/fighter, taking three levels in Battle Master fighter before my character's nature of curiosity led me into a pact with the Hexblade warlock patron. I now have a question that neither of us can find an answer to:

Can I use my Riposte maneuver in conjunction with my Armor of Hexes?

The Hexblade's 10th-level Armor of Hexes feature (XGtE, p. 56) states:

If the target cursed by your Hexblade’s Curse hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to roll a d6. On a 4 or higher, the attack instead misses you, regardless of its roll.

The Battle Master's Riposte maneuver (PHB, p. 74) states:

When a creature misses you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction and expend one superiority die to make a melee weapon attack against the creature. If you hit, you add the superiority die to the attack’s damage roll.

Can these two abilities stack, allowing my Tabaxi Hexblade to make an attack miss using Armor of Hexes and Riposte to make a melee attack using the Tabaxi's claws?

We both know that we can make the rules of the game do as we please within reason, but we both would like to know what a by the book rules lawyer would rule in the use of these to reactions together.


1 Answer 1



Both of them requires reaction to use. You only have one reaction per turn, so you can only use either, but not both.

  • \$\begingroup\$ There's a reason 5e has the "Action economy" - and stacking abilities like these are exactly why it's there. \$\endgroup\$
    – Σ of eDπ
    Jul 29, 2019 at 22:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .