I know if my first action of a turn is Charge, then Daze will not stop the charge.

What happens if Daze is the second action of the turn? Can Daze stop the Charge then ?

Sequence of events:

  1. I do a move action
  2. I declare Charge and do the move portion of the charge
  3. I trigger an opportunity attack and get hit and become dazed

Can I now do the attack from the Charge, or is it lost?


2 Answers 2


Opportunity attacks interrupt the current action (meaning they happen as soon as they are triggered either before an attack or before leaving the adjacent square).

One of the properties of interrupts is that actions that are no longer valid are lost.

If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, that action is lost. (DDI)

Thus the movement would be stopped on the daze (as you lack the standard action the charge you are in the midst of requires... similar to Does an opportunity attack that stuns prevent the movement?) and the attack would not happen as it would be the completion of the charge action.

If you are still in a valid position to charge, an action point may be spent to charge, but I do not think that an action point could be spent to resume the charge rather than start a new one.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't see how the dazed condition would end the action you're in the middle of. It will clearly prevent you from spending additional actions, but not finishing an action you've already spent. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 24, 2012 at 13:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @EugeneKatz if you get dazed in the middle of a move after you've already taken an action you're move is over. Same goes for charging here. Because you've already acted any further actions are invalid, even completing the current one. \$\endgroup\$
    – wax eagle
    Commented Mar 24, 2012 at 19:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ @EugeneKatz rpg.stackexchange.com/a/8685/1084 reaches the same conclusion I do \$\endgroup\$
    – wax eagle
    Commented Mar 24, 2012 at 19:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @waxeagle The question you reference mainly focuses on the stunned condition and only mentions dazed as an aside. Stunned is more restrictive; it doesn't let you take any action, not even free ones, and a flying creature would drop unless it can hover. Dazed just alters the action economy for the current round. You can't take any additional non-free actions if you've reached the limit, but there is no reason why you can't finish the one that's already started. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 25, 2012 at 2:52
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @EugeneKatz my question about OA and stunned references dazed in exactly the same way that this question does - in the middle of an action the right to take that action is removed... does the action continue? In both that question and this answer, the suggestion is "No, the action does not continue." \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 26, 2012 at 21:19

Because you've already spent the action to initiate the charge, getting dazed in the middle of it should not invalidate your action. Dazed condition would prevent you from taking additional non-free actions (and technically that's the case at the end of a charge anyway), but since you've already cashed in your standard action to initiate the charge, you should be able to finish it.

Unlike examples where an interrupt invalidates the action which triggered it, there is nothing about being dazed that would make completing the charge (action you've already started) illegal. And you clearly must have started the charge action, even if you have not started the movement portion of it yet, because that is what the opportunity attack is triggered by.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .