6
\$\begingroup\$

The potion of heroism says:

For 1 hour after drinking it, you gain 10 temporary hit points that last for 1 hour. For the same duration, you are under the effect of the bless spell (no concentration required).

What happens when dispel magic is cast on a person under the effects of this potion?

  • Does the entire potion effect get dispelled?

  • Does only the bless part get dispelled?

  • Does only the non-bless part get dispelled?

  • Or does nothing get dispelled?
\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Only the bless effect

Dispel magic specifies that it ends...

Any spell ... on the target

While the bless effect is simply a spell effect, it still qualifies as a spell for this purpose as evident by this ruling by Jeremy Crawford, lead designer for 5e:

Dispel magic can be used against a spell effect created by a potion

Some tangential evidence: this answer to another question also addresses that dispel magic can work against spell effects without having to dispel an entire actual spell.

Dispel magic ends a spell on one target. It doesn’t end the same spell on other targets.

So you would dispel any magical effect that is a spell effect, but not the additional effect such as the temporary hit points of the potion of heroism.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.