2
\$\begingroup\$

How much gear can you hold with out a backpack or any container? If your a fighter and pick leather armor, longbow, twenty arrows, rapier, shield, two handaxe, and an explore's pack. wear the armor and the pack, hold the sword and shield, tuck the handaxes in your pants, loop the bow around your torso, stick eight arrows between your toes two up your nose and ten in your mouth. So you can hold all that sure but you can't do anything.

Do you even need containers?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by doppelgreener Sep 19 '18 at 19:31

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ You've asked a few questions here, some of which need to be their own question. For example, "don't you need to use interact if you don't have a quiver" should be it's own. We try to have posts focus on 1 question at a time. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Sep 19 '18 at 18:33
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Could you clarify your actual problem here? You ask what you can hold without any containers or what's the point... but I think your question both illustrates what you can hold and what the point is, and it looks like you're fully aware of both of those things: "So you can hold all that sure but you can't do anything." So what problem is left over here? What's your difficulty or point of confusion? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Sep 19 '18 at 18:46
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @NathanSantee Yeah but you're asking us how much you can carry without containers, including without a backpack, but we're asked to work with a scenario which involves full use of a backpack. This doesn't make a lot of sense for us to be able to answer reasonably. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Sep 19 '18 at 19:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Some guidance to help this question reopen: Provide a clear question that you want answered (i.e. "Can I carry <list of things> without a container even though this doesn't exceed my encumbrance limit?" or "Do the encumbrance rules require me to use containers once weight exceeds a certain point?"); providing more information than might be necessary can be helpful (i.e. what's your strength score and class level?); identify sections of the rules that you've looked at already and discuss how they relate to your question (i.e. encumbrance rules in the PHB don't seem to address containers). \$\endgroup\$ – Pyrotechnical Sep 19 '18 at 20:13
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Related (possible duplicate?) on Do PCs have a volumetric carry capacity? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Sep 19 '18 at 20:21