7
\$\begingroup\$

When Soaking Wounds with a bennie do you roll for the maximum number of wounds the damage could do, or the maximum wound the character can take. For example, say a character currently has 2 wounds and they are hit with damage that could do 2 wounds, do they roll to Soak one or two wounds? What about 10 wounds?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

I'll use your example.

The character has 2 wounds and takes 2 more. They decide to spend a benny and soak the wounds. They make a Vigor check at -2 (due to having 2 existing wounds.) If they succeed (target 4 always), they soak 1 wound. Each raise beyond that soaks another wound.

They can only soak wounds immediately after receiving them. The original 2 wounds remain until further healing can be applied, regardless of how many raises were rolled. If all immediate wounds (the latest 2 wounds) are soaked, the character also recovers from being shaken.

If a character receives 10 wounds in total, they have to somehow soak 7 wounds with one Vigor test to prevent being incapacitated (target 28, good luck!) I've been there before and come out with a permanent injury and a new quest.

It is also worth noting that once you get past 6 wounds at once, you are almost certainly better off saving your bennies for rolls on the incapacitation table rather than trying to soak the wounds themselves.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.