The rogue's Cunning Action feature states:

Starting at 2nd level, your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.

Player's Handbook, p. 96

If I somehow could take more than one Bonus Action within a single turn, could Cunning Action be used twice? My concern is that it says "on each of your turns" (emphasis added) and I am unsure if that means it can only be used once per turn irrespective of available actions or if I'm reading too much into that phrasing.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Is this really about action surge, like the answer addresses, or is it about extra bonus actions and merely lacking an official source for extra bonus actions without extra turns? It is totally okay to ask what happens with extra bonus actions even absent a feature that grants them in published first party material. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Sep 27 '18 at 5:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe it is about the relationship between extra bonus actions without extra turns as the feature is worded. I tried looking around but all I got was whether people can dash twice or whether action surge grants a possible bonus action. So when feature specifies "Each of your turns.", what if there are two possible bonus action available within the same turn? Will the feature be able to be used twice? \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Lin Sep 28 '18 at 6:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Okay, I've edited your question based on that. Action surge might seem like a good example but, as the linked question yours was closed as a duplicate of shows, it can't actually give you extra bonus actions in most campaigns. As far as I am aware, all the official methods of getting extra bonus actions come from giving you extra turns, but that doesn't in any way invalidate the question. Hopefully you get a useful answer :) Also: Welcome to the site! We have a tour and help center you might find useful. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Sep 28 '18 at 6:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ Shots and thank you for the welcome! Now I have a better understanding of how this works! \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Lin Sep 28 '18 at 7:01

You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat.

The "a" seems singular to me so one bonus action. If RAW wanted you to use the class feature multiple times it would read "You can use your bonus actions to..."

Although I think it's a moot point; as far as I know there isn't a way to obtain multiple bonus actions in the same turn.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah that's what my second paragraph was saying, I am pretty sure there is no way outside of homebrewed rules to have more than one bonus action in a turn. \$\endgroup\$ – MooseBoost Sep 29 '19 at 12:09

The text in Cunning Action as written applies to both the turns a 17th level Rogue with Thief's Reflexes gets during the first round. If it said "once per round" rather than "on each of your turns", it would be unavailable on a Thief's second turn.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ That involves multiple turns - there's still only one bonus action per turn. This answer doesn't technically answer the question as asked, so you might want to expand it a bit more to address the question directly before explaining (as you do here) how you can have multiple bonus actions per round. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 1 '19 at 7:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.