5
\$\begingroup\$

As the wizard of a party, I plan to use the tiny hut spell to keep everyone safe during long rests on the road. However, the out party might be traveling with a group larger than can fit in the hut, and if we are attacked in the night, I'd like to be able to help defend those outside with ranged attacks from inside the safety of the hut. This is easy enough to accomplish with a ranged weapon, but dammit, I'm a wizard! I want to attack with a spell. The problem is that the tiny hut spell says:

Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it.

So as long as I'm hiding inside the hut, it seems that no spell I cast will be able to hurt the attackers outside. But what about catapult, cast on an object that is currently inside the hut and flung in the direction of an enemy outside the hut? Will the catapulted object reach its target, or will the spell's magic, and therefore also the object itself, be stopped as soon as the object exits the tiny hut?

Also, in the unlikely event that the enemy has a spellcaster with the catapult spell, would they be able to use the spell to launch the same object back at me?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Perhaps a different question along the lines of "how can I fight from within a tiny hut with spells?" would yeald better results. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruse Sep 30 '18 at 7:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ That last question is a hilarious and fascinating loophole. Typically nothing can enter the hut, but any projectile inside when the spell was cast can be returned. \$\endgroup\$ – Poetically Psychotic Sep 30 '18 at 12:40
7
\$\begingroup\$

The duration of the catapult spell is instantaneous. Thus, the magic is only present long enough to launch your object on its trajectory, and does not persist throughout the flight.

Therefore, you can use catapult to throw an object out of the hut, and a wizard outside can use catapult to throw the same object back into the hut.


Related answer to another question: Can Catapult's target be in an antimagic field?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I would note that "instantaneous" doesn't necessarily mean that the magic is only present for a single instant. For example eldritch blast has a duration of instantaneous, but at higher levels it creates multiple beams that hit sequentially, not all at the same time. So in practice, instantaneous means "too fast for anything else to happen in the meantime (except possibly certain special reactions)". In other words, it is mechanically instantaneous but not necessarily literally so. \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan Thompson Sep 30 '18 at 4:14
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ It works, based on this answer \$\endgroup\$ – András Sep 30 '18 at 8:08
6
\$\begingroup\$

The tiny hut probably stops the catapult

It's not entirely clear whether the magic is launching the object like a projectile or transporting it throughout the length of the flight. However, I believe that the latter is the intent for the following reasons.

If the object were like a projectile, then I think a ranged attack would have been used instead of a save.

The path of the object is part of the spell's description, which suggests that it is also part of the spell's effect. Moreover, the wording that the "object flies", instead of "is thrown" or "is launched" vaguely suggests that the magic is in effect throughout the entire flight of the object. And when the flight ends the object just stops moving and falls.

The object flies in a straight line up to 90 feet in a direction you choose before falling to the ground.

However, the spell is ambigous so a DM could reasonably rule either way. I reccommend asking your DM in advance whether it will work.


The direction of an object is irrelevant to the tiny hut. As long as an object was inside the tiny hut when the hut was created, it can go back in:

Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think you meant latter instead of former? \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan Thompson Sep 30 '18 at 7:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RyanThompson you are correct! \$\endgroup\$ – Ruse Sep 30 '18 at 7:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ I like this answer, particularly because of the point about the object "flying." Also worth noting that the object does the same damage whether it is a crumpled piece of paper or a 5-pound stone, which would indicate some magic at work. Interesting though, that there's no indication the damage is from a magical weapon. \$\endgroup\$ – lightcat Oct 3 '18 at 7:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.