9
\$\begingroup\$

Let's say before I even enter combat, I cast Blade Ward as a ready action, and saying "I'll release this as soon as Haste ends," then cast Haste on myself

After Haste ends, it says that

When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until the end of its next turn.

Apparently, you can still take reactions even after Haste, is it the same for a readied action?

An example for a sequence of events in case my description is confusing:

Let's say my party enters a potentially dangerous area, so before that, I'll cast/prepare Blade Ward as a ready action, stating that I'll release it for after Haste ends (but I don't cast Haste yet).

Once we enter a place with enemies (and we're not ambushed), I cast Haste on myself. Let's say after some turns of combat and my turn is over, Haste ends, and I'm left not able to do anything next turn as per Haste's effects. During that turn (when I'm not able to do anything), Haste has ended so Blade Ward should be released/take effect (if it's possible)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Let's say my party enters a potentially dangerous area, so before that, I'll cast/prepare Blade Ward as a ready action, stating that I'll prepare it for after Haste ends. Once we enter a place with enemies (and we're not ambushed), I cast Haste on myself. Let's say after my turn is over, Haste ends, and I'm left not able to do anything next turn since as per Haste's effects. During that turn, I'm planning to release Blade Ward in case anything attacks me. Is that possible? \$\endgroup\$ – Cyanic Oct 2 '18 at 10:14
31
\$\begingroup\$

It does not work, but not for the reason you think

Two concentrations

Readying a spell needs concentration, so your readied Blade Ward end the moment you start casting Haste (which also needs concentration).

As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires concentration, your concentration on another effect ends instantly.

Ready lasts only until your next turn

Player's Handbook Errata:

Ready (p. 193). You have until the start of your next turn to use a readied action.

How it could work

If someone else cast Haste on you, you can cast Blade Ward from your normal action1 in the round before you expect Haste to end.


1) not the one gained from Haste

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ One more reason: a reaction is "a special action", so Haste also prevents you from using reactions when it ends. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Oct 2 '18 at 13:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @miniman reactions are actually separate. Bonus actions are special actions but reactions hold their own place. The incapacitated condition specifically mentions that your can't use actions or reactions \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Oct 2 '18 at 13:54
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron Hmmm, interesting. Bonus actions and reactions are both "special actions", but bonus actions explicitly state that anything that prevents you from using an action also prevents bonus actions, while reactions don't. I was going to ask a question, but it was already in the related questions :) \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Oct 2 '18 at 13:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not certain of the first point here. "A concentration spell ends the instant you start casting another concentration spell" (twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/951889482298540032) and I don't believe that readying a spell is equivalent to starting to cast it. \$\endgroup\$ – Elia Oct 2 '18 at 19:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Elia: It is equivalent to starting to cast it (or actually casting it, technically), specifically because readying a spell means you cast the spell immediately but hold its energy to release later. That said, the first point is actually the other way around from what you suggest: the already readied Blade Ward spell requires concentration to keep it readied - and Haste is not being readied, just cast normally, but it requires concentration as well. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 2 '18 at 19:33
2
\$\begingroup\$

This will not work

Your plan to ready Blade Ward ahead of time before entering combat is unfortunately not possible. As you can see in this related answer, you have only one round to release the readied Blade Ward

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

This won't work

Even if you have haste cast on you by someone else, "as soon as haste ends" is not a valid trigger since it is not a perceivable condition.

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction.

Your DM, however, might rule that the character feels the slow-motion wears off as perceivable condition, thus allowing you to ready an action (release the Blade Ward).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would argue that being unable to move or take actions is perceivable. Maybe the actual magic ending couldn't be specifically perceived unless you have Detect Magic running, but finding yourself unable to take actions or move would be pretty noticeable if you ask me. However, no it won't work anyway, as elaborated by the accepted answers above \$\endgroup\$ – MarkTO Oct 2 '18 at 18:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.