Say you move out of an enemy's range, and they opportunity attack you. Can you then cast Shield as a reaction, or do another reaction when that happens?


The rules for reactions are fairly straightforward:

Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack, described later in this section, is the most common type of reaction.

When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.

It specifically mentions being able to use reactions on your turn, so then we look to the shield spell, to see when the reaction is allowed:

Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell

So yes, you would be able to use this when you are hit by an opportunity attack, as that is an attack. You would then be unable to use any more reactions until the start of your next turn.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I've fixed the capitalization in your first quote, since it seems to have been copied from Roll20 which is known to have capitalization issues due to how the Roll20 Compendium formats links. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 4 '18 at 8:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks. Couldn't find a better formatted quote. \$\endgroup\$ – Theik Oct 4 '18 at 8:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ The bolded 'on your turn' is confusing. I would suggest bolding 'or someone else's' as well. \$\endgroup\$ – SeriousBri Oct 4 '18 at 10:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "On your turn" is bolded because that's when an opportunity attack would occur against you. It's why the OP was confused on if they can react or not. \$\endgroup\$ – Theik Oct 4 '18 at 11:01

Yes you can, provided you haven't already used your reaction that round.

  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm downvoting because although brevity is acceptable and this may be correct, fuller explanations are much more useful. Could you provide a bit of backup for this answer; maybe quote the relevant rules? \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Oct 4 '18 at 6:54
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @PurpleMonkey Respectfully, while the comment is helpful, I think refraining from voting would be more appropriate than downvoting, especially in the case of a low-rep user; downvotes indicate wrong or non-useful answers, and this one is neither. Posting a correct and useful answer and getting downvoted sends a bad signal to the poster who is new to the site and to answering here. \$\endgroup\$ – TylerH Oct 4 '18 at 18:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @TylerH that may be true but there is also something to be said about it's unhelpfulness. I could say the exact opposite to this answer but without providing any evidence/backup it's not a useful answer. Answers are expected to be self contained and provide the necessary information, not provide one sentence and expect readers to confirm it's true themselves by having to read through the rules. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Oct 4 '18 at 23:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PurpleMonkey The difference is you'd be wrong and know you are wrong; if you know enough to know something is correct, it seems disingenuous to downvote a correct answer simply because it's lacking citations. It's more helpful to newer users to leave the voting be and simply ask for citations. \$\endgroup\$ – TylerH Oct 5 '18 at 1:33
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This is incorrect, reactions do not refresh at the start of the round, but at the start of each creature's turn. So a creature can use two reactions per round, but cannot use two reactions in-between their turns. \$\endgroup\$ – Neil Slater Oct 5 '18 at 9:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.