2
\$\begingroup\$

If a character or monster that normally has darkvision is polymorphed into an animal that normally does not, does it still have darkvision?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I've edited out the [rules-as-written] tag (and replaced the tags with more relevant ones); it's meant to be used on "Questions that are about the logical interactions and application of the game rules, when their written form is interpreted as strictly as possible, without reference to explanations or considerations outside of the rules texts." - It's not a general tag for rules questions. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 9 '18 at 6:13
11
\$\begingroup\$

You don't retain darkvision if polymorphed into a creature without darkvision.

Polymorph states:

The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality.

A creature's senses (vision) are a part of its game statistics. Therefore, your darkvision would be replaced by the creature's normal vision.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe add a note concerning Wildshape - you'd still lose the darkvision gained from your race, but features such as a Warlock's Devil's Sight would still apply - seeing as it's a class feature, which functions normally during Wildshape (but not Polymorph). \$\endgroup\$ – PixelMaster Oct 9 '18 at 6:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.