12
\$\begingroup\$

Recently I cast Gust of Wind to push back a group of chitine that suddenly jumped the party. It worked surprisingly well but just to be safe, I wanted to place my wizard behind a statue to stay out of their reach in any case, while the wind supported my allies.

The DM asked me how the position of the line works when I move away from the original casting position. I don't know, I said, so I quickly looked it up but it didn't get more clear. He ruled that the blast of wind continued blowing from where I originally cast it, regardless of my wizard's new position (which is how I intended it).

Now after the session, reading the spell description still doesn't clarify it to me. Is there something I'm missing here?

A strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose. Each creature that starts its turn in the line must pass a strength save or be pushed 15 feet away in the line's direction. [...]

As a bonus action, you can change the line's direction.

What is supposed to happen to the position of the line when the caster moves while the spell is still active?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I edited out the link in your question because it points to a site that hosts non-SRD content. Gust of wind is in the SRD, however - here's the official wording: "A line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the spell's duration. Each creature that starts its turn in the line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the line." \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 11 '18 at 2:26
19
\$\begingroup\$

The gust moves with the caster

First, the spell does not target a point in space, it has a range of Self.

Second:

A strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose.

Even if you move, it will keep doing that: blasting from you.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for pointing out that detail! It was the text under the Bonus Action that confused me though. But after double checking the wording on PHB p.248 I see it restates clearly and emphasizes your point: "(...) you can change the direction in which the line blasts from you." That last important detail got skipped in the description that I quoted from the Wikia. \$\endgroup\$ – Vadruk Oct 10 '18 at 9:24
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Vadruk yeah, the wikia is pretty rife with stuff like that, leaving out important words or phrases (presumably because the transcriptionist thought they weren't really necessary). \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Oct 10 '18 at 12:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ I avoid the Wikia sites like the plague. For any game, they are usually full of headcanon and people's home-brew versions of things. Fine if that's what you're looking for, but not really worth all the landmines of bad info. \$\endgroup\$ – user47897 Oct 10 '18 at 19:08
6
\$\begingroup\$

The gust moves with the caster

Range Self (60ft line)

This is why I think the spell moves with you, because it is actually cast ON you.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I brought up 2 points and this was the first, what you say is part of my reasoning. Maybe I shouldv'e expounded a bit on it. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Oct 10 '18 at 11:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Szega FFS I can't read. I will update my answer to not refer to yours. \$\endgroup\$ – SeriousBri Oct 10 '18 at 11:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.