Can I cast find greater steed (XGtE, p. 156) to summon a creature, hop on it, and use its movement, action, or both - all in the same turn?


1 Answer 1


It takes 10 minutes to cast

Find greater steed (Xanathars, 156) has a casting time of 10 minutes.

Because of that, you won't be able cast and use the steed in a single turn.

  • \$\begingroup\$ This is oversimplifying a little. When you finish casting the spell, the steed appears, with its own initiative. Then, when you mount it, and choose to treat it as a controlled mount (assuming your DM doesn't consider it intelligent), its initiative changes to match yours. Then you can end your turn, and use its movement on its turn. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Commented Oct 11, 2018 at 0:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Miniman: Crawford's most recent ruling on steeds being independent vs. controlled while mounted: "Find steed / find greater steed—when you ride the mount in combat, you decide whether it follows the rules for a controlled or an independent mount." \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Oct 11, 2018 at 3:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast Interesting, I guess that's official confirmation that Int 6 is not enough to be considered "an intelligent creature". Or it would be, if Crawford wasn't a master of vague inconsistency. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Commented Oct 11, 2018 at 3:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Miniman: That's not really confirmation of that. It can act independently, because it's reasonably intelligent. It can act under your control - because the spell says "You control the mount in combat." (And both steed spells describe the steed as loyal and obeying you to the best of its ability, generally speaking.) \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Oct 11, 2018 at 3:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast Any mount can act independently, intelligence just means that it always acts independently. And if you're taking "you control the mount in combat" to mean "the mount follows the rules for a controlled mount", then it can't act independently. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Commented Oct 11, 2018 at 3:45

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .