Gaining one level in any skill seems to fall outside the standard "Skills can be listed with or without an associated level. If no rank is listed, then you gain that skill at Level 1 if you do not have it already, or increases its level by one if you are already trained in that field." due to the lack of listing the actual skill, any clarification on this issue would be nice.

up vote 2 down vote accepted

You should probably Gain it at Level 1

This case falls between the rules as written so direct rules reference is not really possible. The Connections rule only says:

For each connection you make, you gain one level in any Skill

The argument against the you get it at Level 1 is that going from untrained to level 0 is also upping the level as this means it you no longer get the penalties for untrained use.

But I would argue that you can see the skill you gain from the connection as a skill listed without an associated level and apply the general rule:

Skills can be listed with or without an associated level. If no rank is listed, then you gain that skill at Level 1 if you do not have it already, or increases its level by one if you are already trained in that field

The other argument is that the intend of the connection rule is two fold on one side it rewards you for adding a connection and with that a roleplay hook. On the other hand you gain a level in a skill which means you can chose to start with a higher power character balanced with that you increase your Skill Total making learning new skills more work. Knowing this you can see the intent as raising your Skill Total by one and as untrained skills and Level 0 skills both count as 0 for this total moving a skill from untrained to 0 would not increase the Skill Total

  • 1
    0 is not really a level; rather, it's a signal that unskilled penalties do not apply. During character creation, when you roll on the skill table, you "gain a level" in the selected skill; if you don't have the skill before, you get the skill at level 1, not level 0. The only time you gain a skill at level 0 is when the rules explicitly grant the level 0 skill, e.g., in homeworld/background skills, or career automatic skills on advancement. – Jeff Zeitlin Oct 11 at 11:53

No rank is listed, thus you add 1 rank to an existing skill, or gain a new skill at rank 1. The detail that you choose the skill rather than having a specific skill listed is not significant.

There are very few situations where skills are gained at rank 0 (homeworld background skills, basic training) and, in those cases, you cannot gain or increase the skill above rank 0. In this case, existing skills can be increased to a maximum of rank 3, thus it is not subject to a "rank 0 and no higher" limitation.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.