Does the Catnap spell affect people that are already unconscious?

An example:

The trusty fighter fights and takes damage, and is reduced to 0 hitpoints. The wizard kills the bad guy(s), and stabilizes the fighter.

Now the wizard looks over his trusty fighter and casts the spell catnap (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 151), desiring for the fighter to wake up in 10 minutes after getting the full effect of a short rest, including a short rest's worth of healing, rather than after 1d4 hours with 1 hitpoint.

Does this work the way the wizard hopes? Or have I misread something?


Unconscious creatures are not valid targets for catnap

Catnap says:

up to three willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range fall unconscious

The fighter is unconscious and unconscious creatures are not willing. Crawford confirms this point in regards to a similar question about dimension door:

Only a willing creature can travel with you via dimension door. You can't give consent when you're unconscious.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .