5
\$\begingroup\$

In the description of lightning lure (SCAG, p. 143), it says:

You create a lash of lightning energy that strikes at one creature of your choice that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pulled up to 10 feet in a straight line toward you and then take 1d8 lightning damage if it is within 5 feet of you.

(emphasis mine)

Does that mean that I can vary the distance the creature is pulled? Like am I able to just pull it 5 feet as opposed to 10?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ The quote in your post didn't match the spell description, but the relevant section of the spell description is still worded the same way, so I went ahead and fixed the quote (and added a DNDBeyond link and page number). \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 13 '18 at 7:34
12
\$\begingroup\$

"Up to" means exactly that

If you are not paying on a grid, you can pull the target 3.2 feet, or whatever you desire under 10 feet.

However, he does not take damage if he is not adjacent to you after the pull.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.