9
\$\begingroup\$

Does staggered constitute as hindered for triggering to the Medusa's Wrath feat?

So I am playing a pathfinder game with some buds, and I made a monk (Core, not unchained). Under scorpion style there are two other moves that I could get later. Gorgon's fist makes the creature staggered, and then Medusa's wrath gives me 2 extra attacks on a hindered enemy. It is unclear what hindered means. The book doesn't have this answer as hindered isn't a condition listed.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Take the tour! Thank you for participating and have fun. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 14 '18 at 13:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's worth noting that Scorpion Style/Gorgon Fist/Medusa's Wrath are not a Style feat tree as per Style Feats. You don't need to 'enter' Scorpion Style, and you do not need to use (or even have) Scorpion Style/Gorgon Fist to benefit from Medusa's Wrath. (You can get Medusa's Wrath without otherwise qualifying for it with Monk Bonus Feats) \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Oct 15 '18 at 2:10
9
\$\begingroup\$

You're correct that hindered isn't among the game's conditions, but, fortunately, the current version of the feat Medusa's Wrath has as its benefit the following:

Whenever you use the full-attack action and make at least one unarmed strike, you can make two additional unarmed strikes at your highest base attack bonus. These bonus attacks must be made against a dazed, flat-footed, paralyzed, staggered, stunned, or unconscious foe.

…So the current benefit doesn't mention hindered at all! (It's possible to infer from the feat Gorgon's Fist that hindered could mean that the creature's speed is reduced such as with the result of the feat Scorpion Style, but I'm speculating here.)

Anyway, this means that if, on one turn, your monk staggers a foe using the feat Gorgon's Fist then, on your monk's next turn, your monk can totally open a can of Medusa's Wrath on that staggered foe.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you so much. The wording from the version I am using confused the hell out of me. I am glad that the newer version clarifies. :) \$\endgroup\$ – Drizna Oct 14 '18 at 13:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Drizna You're welcome, and it was my pleasure. Because I'm curious: What printing of the book are you using? And is it in a language other than English? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 14 '18 at 14:09
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Drizna The site forbids piracy, but everything you need—and, probably, far, far more than you want—is made available for free and in a completely legal way on d20pfsrd.com. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 14 '18 at 14:46
  • 1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso This answer doesn't deny that? However, a creature really must take a standard action use the benefit of the feat Gorgon's Fist, making it so that, if the creature uses the feat Gorgon's Fist to apply the condition to a foe, it's usually impossible for the typical creature on the same turn to realize the benefit of the feat Medusa' s Wrath against that same foe. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 15 '18 at 4:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.