The war caster feat includes the following feature:
When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature. [PHB:???]
First, if the spell must have a casting time of 1 action, does this preclude the use of spells with a casting time of 1 bonus action, as previously discussed here?
Also, when you cast a spell as a reaction, is this influenced at all by the one spell per turn rule?
Bonus Action: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. [PHB:203]
- Would you be prevented from casting during this reaction if you had already cast a spell on your current turn?
- Would you be prevented from casting a spell on your next turn if you cast a spell during this reaction? Or,
- Are reactions outside of the timing window of both your current turn and your next turn?