8
\$\begingroup\$

I was looking through a necromancer class for pathfinder published by a third party source and I noticed a section that claims "At 3rd level, a necromancer gains Command Undead as a bonus feat." I was primarily wondering if this was possible, for a spell to function as a feat. If it is possible, how exactly does it work?

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

Spells and Feats are separate things

A spell can't be a feat, and a feat can't be a spell. When the class feature Command Undead states you gain Command Undead as a bonus feat, it must be talking about the feat Command Undead, not the spell Command Undead.

Yes, there are 3 different things all called Command Undead. Context is required to know which is referred to. Since the class feature says you gain it as a bonus feat, it can only be referring to the feat of the same name.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GreySage I think it would be nice to note that there are feats that grant specific spells as supernatural or spell-like abilities, usually with some other cost or restriction associated. The feat Channeled Revival is a good example of this. \$\endgroup\$ – T. Sar Oct 16 '18 at 11:00
4
\$\begingroup\$

The issue with this is that there is actually both a spell and feat with the exact same name. So in this case the class is actually granting you a feat.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

No, Spells cannot function as feats (in general)

Specifically on Command Undead, there is both a Command Undead Feat, as well as a Command Undead Spell; which can cause confusion.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

You are mixing the feat with the spell of same name

Pathfinder has a feat called Command Undead, and also a spell called Command Undead. Sometimes they get mixed up, but the context should be enough to clarify which one the text is talking about. Here, it says:

At 3rd level, a necromancer gains Command Undead as a bonus feat.

So, it's clear it is talking about the feat, Command Undead.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean 'Command' instead of 'Control'? \$\endgroup\$ – Pyrotechnical Oct 16 '18 at 12:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.