1
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Starting as a High Elf lets me know a single wizard cantrip at level 1. By the time I hit level 3 and get my archetype, Eldritch Knight, I am supposed to know 2.

I'm just a bit confused on whether this would mean 2 overall, or 2 in addition to the High Elf starting cantrip, meaning 3 known cantrips at level 3.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Tim Grant, Miniman dnd-5e Oct 17 '18 at 0:31

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Reece, welcome to Stack RPG. I've suggested this question be closed as a duplicate, because it's already been asked and answered, here: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/59441/… \$\endgroup\$ – Tim Grant Oct 17 '18 at 0:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi again Reece. As you see, this question got 'closed' as a duplicate of a previously asked one. If the older question answers your concern, great. If not, then you would edit your question to show how your question is different. Once again, welcome, and I hope you are enjoying the site. Please take "the tour" of the site when you have a minute: rpg.stackexchange.com/tour \$\endgroup\$ – Tim Grant Oct 17 '18 at 1:12
6
\$\begingroup\$

2 in addition, for a total of 3.

The High-Elf cantrip does not count for the amount of cantrips you know. You will have an extra one, for a total of 3.

From this answer,

The general rule is that features from your race, class, archetype, or whatever, are additional to one another. Features do not stack only when explicitly noted by the rules.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.