The catapult spell description says:

Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds within range that isn’t being worn or carried.

The description of Bigby's hand states that it is a Large object with no defined weight, but it doesn't fill the space it's in (I'm not sure if that means it's hovering or if it's ghostly).

Let's say I target Bigby's hand with catapult and launch the hand 90 feet towards some bad guys. Would it fail as a possible use for catapult, or would it shoot off as normal and hit the first thing in its path?


Unknown, but may not be a legitimate object

Catapult doesn't require an object to weigh less than 5 lbs, but that it must weigh between 1 and 5 lbs.

Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds within range that isn’t being worn or carried.

Bigby has no defined weight and doesn't technically apply.

| improve this answer | |
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ A valid point, thanks for pointing that out. Since Bigby's Hand could very well grapple things, would it still no longer be a possible target if it was holding, say, a 1 pound dagger? Or, alternatively, is a 1/2 pound bag holding 3 pounds of gold a valid target? \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Zastoupil Oct 18 '18 at 21:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DanielZastoupil, you should edit your question to include this comment. \$\endgroup\$ – Rykara Oct 18 '18 at 23:02
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I actually think that needs to be its own question about whether a collection of objects counts as a single object for catapult targets. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Oct 18 '18 at 23:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think, technically, even with a dagger, catapult will not work because you cannot use the spell on items being worn or carried. I believe that the dagger is considered as "carried" by the hand. \$\endgroup\$ – Lux Claridge Oct 19 '18 at 17:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.