7
\$\begingroup\$

Part of the Lucky feat (PHB, p. 167) says:

You can also spend one luck point when an attack roll is made against you. Roll a d20, and then choose whether the attack uses the attacker's roll or yours.

When using the Lucky feat to reroll an attack against me, do I add any modifiers to the reroll?

Say the attacker's roll for example is a 23 (1d20 + 6 (prof. bonus + relevant ability score modifier), with a roll of 17 on the die); I use Lucky to force a reroll, and there's a 15 rolled on the die. Do I add the attacker's proficiency to the 1d20 that I rolled for the replacement? Or do I keep it as it is, as 15?

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

The modifier is added to whichever die roll you choose

The roll is the result of the dice; the +6 is the modifier. That is added to either roll result.

This means you may choose from either 23 (die roll of 17 + the modifier of 6) or 21 (the roll of 15 + 6).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I was going to suggest touching on who actually adds the modifier and whether the player knows the enemy's exact roll, but those are apparently already covered by the related questions I linked in my comment above. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 19 '18 at 4:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.