7
\$\begingroup\$

Part of the Lucky feat (PHB, p. 167) says:

You can also spend one luck point when an attack roll is made against you. Roll a d20, and then choose whether the attack uses the attacker's roll or yours.

When using the Lucky feat to reroll an attack against me, do I add any modifiers to the reroll?

Say the attacker's roll for example is a 23 (1d20 + 6 (prof. bonus + relevant ability score modifier), with a roll of 17 on the die); I use Lucky to force a reroll, and there's a 15 rolled on the die. Do I add the attacker's proficiency to the 1d20 that I rolled for the replacement? Or do I keep it as it is, as 15?

\$\endgroup\$
1
10
\$\begingroup\$

The modifier is added to whichever die roll you choose

The roll is the result of the dice; the +6 is the modifier. That is added to either roll result.

This means you may choose from either 23 (die roll of 17 + the modifier of 6) or 21 (the roll of 15 + 6).

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ I was going to suggest touching on who actually adds the modifier and whether the player knows the enemy's exact roll, but those are apparently already covered by the related questions I linked in my comment above. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Oct 19 '18 at 4:16

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .