Can the sorcerer's Empowered Spell metamagic option be used to reroll the healing dice for the cure wounds spell (or, for that matter, any healing spell)?

up vote 14 down vote accepted

Nope.

Empowered Spell specifically states:

When you roll damage for a spell...

Healing is not damage so empowering spell doesn't apply to healing spells.

The divine soul sorcerer's 6th-level Empowered Healing feature from Xanathar's Guide to Everything, however, does allow you to reroll healing dice. As covered on page 50:

Empowered Healing

Whenever you or an ally within 5 feet of you rolls dice to determine the number of hit points a spell restores, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll any number of those dice once, provided you aren't incapacitated.

  • So noted. Guess I'll just ask my DM about houseruling it, then. – Stackstuck Oct 22 at 6:10
  • 1
    @Stackstuck make sure they understand that there are rules for this before they houserule it. some dm's may get upset if they think you've purposefully tried to bend the rules to make your character more powerful. – rpgstar Oct 22 at 10:11
  • Oh, no, we're already doing that. Whole reason I even asked this question is because in addition to my 20 sorcerer levels, I'm getting 4 in bard. – Stackstuck Oct 22 at 13:52
  • Back in the day, divine healing on the undead did damage right? That still the case in 5e? And if so, would Empowered Spell be applicable there? – flaZer Oct 22 at 16:05
  • Sadly, it is not, anymore. Well, maybe with channel divinity, but I don't have that. – Stackstuck Oct 22 at 16:09

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.