3
\$\begingroup\$

Can a centaur (from Unearthed Arcana: Centaurs and Minotaurs) with a rider use Stealth/move stealthily?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Only allowed to ask one question per post? Or why did you erase my second question? :o \$\endgroup\$ – DerpwaldDuck Oct 26 '18 at 2:23
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, we prefer that each post asks a single question. Especially in cases where the questions don't depend on one another. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruse Oct 26 '18 at 3:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh, okay, seems fair enough! \$\endgroup\$ – DerpwaldDuck Oct 27 '18 at 1:17
10
\$\begingroup\$

There is nothing that prevents it; however, if the centaur uses Stealth and the rider doesn’t, the centaur will be detected immediately (barring specific circumstances where the rider is only visible from the waist up) and vice-versa.

The two must perform a Group Check (p. 175 of the Player's Handbook):

When a number of individuals are trying to accomplish something as a group, the DM might ask for a group ability check. In such a situation, the characters who are skilled at a particular task help cover those who aren't.

To make a group ability check, everyone in the group makes the ability check. If at least half the group succeeds, the whole group succeeds. Otherwise, the group fails.

The centaur and the rider must both make a Dexterity (Stealth) check, and the highest result is the one that is used. This actually makes it easier for the two of them to hide than if either were alone - presumably this is "the characters who are skilled at a particular task help cover those who aren't" in action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I agree this answer is technically correct, but language like "everyone in the group" and "at least half the group" seems clearly not intended for the kind of two-person scenario asked about in this post, IMO. Perhaps this is a matter of rules-as-written vs. rules-as-intended? \$\endgroup\$ – Valley Lad Oct 26 '18 at 2:28
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth noting that Stealth covers being quiet as well as unseen, so if the centaur uses Stealth and the rider doesn't, the rider might still be heard, giving away the centaur's position. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 26 '18 at 5:13
1
\$\begingroup\$

I would say that two creatures sneaking together in this way are not really a "group check" because you are not doing the same thing -- one is walking while the other is riding on him. Therefore you have to both make Stealth checks individually, so, that means not just the centaur but also his/her rider. The PHB says "Make a Dexterity (Stealth) check when you attempt to conceal yourself from enemies" and well, if you are riding the centaur, both of you are attempting to conceal yourself but in a different way and in different respects.

It makes sense that the rider still has to behave stealthily e.g. not twitching or clearing his throat, etc. But the DM might determine that the DC is lower for the rider since he/she is spared some elements of stealthy movement, such as making sure not to snap a twig with a footstep.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Whether the stealth check is a group check is besides the point. The question asks if the centaur can stealth: you are assuming yes without explaining why. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruse Oct 26 '18 at 3:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.