4
\$\begingroup\$

If you secure an area with the Mordenkainen's private sanctum spell and choose the effect:

Planar travel is blocked within the warded area.

Does this prevent summoning creatures into the area via spells like infernal calling (XGtE, p. 158)?

Planar travel, in this instance, could either mean "willingly moving between planes" or "moving between planes under any circumstance", and I don't know which is meant by the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I've updated the link to point to the spell "Private Sanctum". The spells are identical, the only difference being the inclusion of the name "Mordenkainen" \$\endgroup\$ – Adam Oct 26 '18 at 19:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Adam: Yep, private sanctum is just the SRD version of the spell (the only change is that the SRD versions of such spells remove the name of any copyrighted characters that appear in the spell name). \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 26 '18 at 23:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast I believe most of those names are characters from Gary Gygax's campaigns, which would put them in Greyhawk, not the realms. \$\endgroup\$ – Adam Oct 26 '18 at 23:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Adam: Ah, fair enough. I assume they're all copyrighted, though, which is why they're not in the SRD? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 26 '18 at 23:10
7
\$\begingroup\$

The text says "Planar travel is blocked" with no other exceptions or restrictions, which means that both of your specified scenarios would be blocked, regardless of how or why it is happening. Therefore, as long as the summoning spell is summoning a creature from another plane, it would be blocked.

For example, Instant Summons would be blocked if it summoned the object from another plane, and most of the Conjure X spells would be blocked as they pull creatures from another plane.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Conjure X with the exception of conure elemental and conjure minor elementals, I think, since they do not state that you're summoning them from their respective plane. \$\endgroup\$ – Blake Steel Oct 26 '18 at 19:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ None of the conjure X spell descriptions mention a plane, including the conjure elemental/minor elementals spells. Neither does [Drawmij's] instant summons. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 26 '18 at 23:08
-1
\$\begingroup\$

It depends on how one's summoning works. If your DM allows you to pull the spirits from the surrounding area and form them into creatures, then summoning could work. RAW, it prevents summoning.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to rpg.se! You are making a valuable point and I would love to see you support it by citing rules and offering insight into how that scenario worked out at your table. Expertise is a requirement for this kind of answer on subjective answers. \$\endgroup\$ – Akixkisu Jun 3 at 17:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. As Akixkisu said, your answer would be improved if you supported it by citing the rules and/or your own experience. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 3 at 21:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.