21
\$\begingroup\$

Is teleporting a creature considered to be forced movement of said creature? I have a player interested in a power that adds damage on forced movement and teleport.

\$\endgroup\$
1
22
\$\begingroup\$

No. From the compendium:

Forced Movement

Movement that a creature is compelled to do, specifically a pull, a push, or a slide. A creature can be moved in other ways, such as through teleportation, but only pulls, pushes, and slides are technically forced movement.

\$\endgroup\$
0
5
\$\begingroup\$

It's not forced movement, but per the Player's Handbook errata, trying to teleport creatures into dangerous terrain or to a spot where they will fall gives them an immediate saving throw to avoid the teleport.

Teleportation

Page 286: Replace the text for the Destination entry and the Immobilized entry. This change addresses what happens when a creature is forced to teleport, and it clarifies that the Immobilized entry includes restrained as well.

Destination: Your destination must be a space you can occupy without squeezing. If arriving in the destination space would cause the target to fall or if that space is hindering terrain, the target can make a saving throw. On a save, the teleportation is negated.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A comment on the question with a link to this could have been enough. \$\endgroup\$
    – Zachiel
    Apr 20 '14 at 13:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .