This question already has an answer here:
I have a Cleric 1/Druid X character and I want to make sure I'm using the multiclass rules for their spells correctly. As I've been leveling up, I've been preparing higher level cleric spells, even though I'm a level 1 cleric. Here's how I've been interpreting RAW:
At Level 1, I get the cleric's Spellcasting feature. It states:
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
The Multiclassing rules state to treat each class individually when preparing spells. But the rule doesn't state whether or not those spell slots have to come from the same class. Furthermore, both classes already have all the spells they can know available to them and can change them at the end of a long rest.
I think the biggest problem is that since both classes have the same spellcasting ability and both have access to all spells available to their class, just not the spell slots, is what's making this interaction confusing for me. So, can I continue to prepare higher level Cleric spells despite being only a Level 1 Cleric?