Can you teleport a monster vertically up and thus do them the D10 per 10' falling damage?


Yes, but they get a saving throw.

Teleporting them in the air counts as teleporting them into potentially damaging terrain, therefore they get a save. A successful save negates the teleport.

Hindering Terrain:

A type of terrain that hinders creatures, usually by damaging them. Examples: Pits, lava, and deep water. A creature can make a saving throw when it is pulled, pushed, slid, or teleported into hindering terrain. See also teleportation.


Yes. From the compendium:


*Irrelevant rules snipped*

If arriving in the destination space would cause the target to fall or if that space is hindering terrain, the target can immediately make a saving throw. On a save, the teleportation is negated. Otherwise, the target arrives in the destination space.

Afterwards, normal rules for falling would apply.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that the brevity of this answer is not to be taken condescendingly, but to match my answer to your other question earlier today ;) \$\endgroup\$ – dpatchery Apr 12 '12 at 18:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.