18
\$\begingroup\$

Can you teleport a monster vertically up and thus do them the D10 per 10' falling damage?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

13
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, but they get a saving throw.

Teleporting them in the air counts as teleporting them into potentially damaging terrain, therefore they get a save. A successful save negates the teleport.

Hindering Terrain:

A type of terrain that hinders creatures, usually by damaging them. Examples: Pits, lava, and deep water. A creature can make a saving throw when it is pulled, pushed, slid, or teleported into hindering terrain. See also teleportation.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. From the compendium:

Teleportation

*Irrelevant rules snipped*

If arriving in the destination space would cause the target to fall or if that space is hindering terrain, the target can immediately make a saving throw. On a save, the teleportation is negated. Otherwise, the target arrives in the destination space.

Afterwards, normal rules for falling would apply.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that the brevity of this answer is not to be taken condescendingly, but to match my answer to your other question earlier today ;) \$\endgroup\$
    – dpatchery
    Apr 12, 2012 at 18:24

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .