Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster?

... trying to draw the situations in text mode ...

Assuming we have a map like so ...

A | B | C 
D | E | F
G | H | I 

and the caster is in square A, they could do a Close Blast 2 into B + C + E + F, or E + F + H + I, etc.

However can they do the blast upwards into A + B + D + E, but one and two squares upwards ?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't know of a written rule on this, but my group hits this situation a lot and our interpretation is this: A blast must start in an adjacent square, and vertical squares are just as adjacent as horizontal ones, so why not? But then you get into more complex situations like casting a Close Blast 5 over the heads of your party members to only hit the large enemies, which for some reason seem less clear... Anyways, good question! \$\endgroup\$ – dpatchery Apr 12 '12 at 18:54
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ And welcome to the really quite vile world of 3d in 4e. It's painful. \$\endgroup\$ – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Apr 12 '12 at 18:55
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Oh I second the woes of 3D in 4E ... but at least we've not got 5F :-) \$\endgroup\$ – SteveC Apr 12 '12 at 19:36

Yes, it can. Blasts and bursts extend in the third dimension as they do in the second.

And now for proof.

First, the discussion where this comes up is in dimensional scramble, here:

A Large creature occupies a 2X2X2 cube, and so would be in a burst 1 centred 2 squares up. If any single square (or cube, in this case) of a multi-square creature is in a burst, it is affected as normal.

As DDI notes in burst:

A burst starts in an origin square and extends in all directions to a specified number of squares from the origin square.

Therefore, it extends a number of "squares" in the third dimension and makes math majors cry.

The way to think of D&D (all editions) handling of flight as stacked 2d grids. moving from grid to grid is always poorly supported and takes effort. A sphere is cubed.

Therefore, from this understanding, if you're supporting (effectively) 2.5d and target "up" X squares, it extends "down" from the "up" you targeted as per the rules. Be prepared for a giant headache though.

| improve this answer | |

Yes, but not in the ways you have specified.

The blast will create a 2x2x2 cube of effect, however the origin square is not included with blasts (as it is on bursts).

The blast must be adjacent to its origin square, which is a square in your space. The origin square is not affected by the blast.

There is no way to hit square A with a blast. You can aim upwards and hit A+1, B+1, c+1 and D+1 (as well as the +2 versions of all those).

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ "You can aim upwards and hit A+1, B+1, c+1 and D+1 (as well as the +2 versions of all those)." I'm pretty sure that's all he was asking. \$\endgroup\$ – Jason White Apr 12 '12 at 20:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sorry, my bad ... I was not meaning could the blast hit A, it was A+1 and A+2 as you correctly pointed out \$\endgroup\$ – SteveC Apr 12 '12 at 20:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.