7
\$\begingroup\$

Supernatural Defense, the level 7 Monster Slayer ranger feature (XGtE, p. 43), states that, if the target of your Slayer's Prey forces you to make a saving throw, you may add 1d6 to your roll.

If you take damage while concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration.

Does Supernatural Defense provide a bonus to your concentration saving throw, assuming the triggering damage came from the target of your Slayer's Prey feature? In other words, is the target of your Slayer's Prey forcing you to make the Constitution saving throw, or are you technically being forced by the damage taken, not by that target?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there an ambiguity that makes you think it doesn't apply? \$\endgroup\$ – Bloodcinder Nov 6 '18 at 22:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Bloodcinder The triggering damage is pretty universal. Reoccuring poison damage might be caused by your target's weapon as part of their attack. Would I add 1d6 to every concentration save? Or does it cease to be forced by something other than my opponent after the initial attack? Or what happens if some other effect my opponent did caused me to take damage, like pushing me off a cliff, or into a trap? \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Zastoupil Nov 6 '18 at 22:55
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Okay, so the issue is whether it is the target that's forcing you or technically something else (the damage) that's forcing you. That's what you mean, right? \$\endgroup\$ – Bloodcinder Nov 6 '18 at 22:57
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Bloodcinder That's correct. Additionally, does an attack even count, since the saving throw is only made because you are casting a spell, not because it's a saving throw directly created by your opponent? \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Zastoupil Nov 6 '18 at 22:58
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Okay, I edited that detail into your question. Please review and improve/reject if I messed up your meaning. \$\endgroup\$ – Bloodcinder Nov 6 '18 at 23:07
5
\$\begingroup\$

Supernatural Defense assists with concentration.

Supernatural Defense stats that

At 7th level, you gain extra resilience against your prey's assaults on your mind and body. Whenever the target of your Slayer's Prey forces you to make a saving throw and whenever you make an ability check to escape that target's grapple, add 1d6 to your roll.

However, I can't find any other instances out side of the Monster Slayer that use the wording "forces you to make a saving throw" so we have to look elsewhere for an answer.

The rules for concentration state that

Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.

This draws a direct link between the concentration check, the damage, and the source.

We can safely say that a dragon's breath is the source of a Dexterity saving throw. Therefore, the dragon who exhaled that breath onto you, forced you to make that saving throw.

Given the rules for concentration, we can equally say that an arrow is the source of a Constitution saving throw. Therefore, the archer who shot you with that arrow, forced you to make that saving throw.

This can be generalized to just about any situation in which the target of your Slayer's Prey forces you to make a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration.

Moreover, I think that this ruling is supported by Supernatural Defense's flavor. After all, the damage involved is certainly an assault on your body, while the attempt to break your concentration is an assault on your mind.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Most likely sounds like this answer is unsure, but there's no reasoning against it working. Could this answer be more definitive or make it clear on why it might not work \$\endgroup\$ – GcL Nov 7 '18 at 14:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.