4
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Is it possible to use both Hex (Spell) and Hexblade's Curse (Hex Blade ability) in 1 round of combat? These are both bonus actions. I expect if its possible you would use up your bonus and attack action for the round, leaving movement and reaction.

I do apologise if this is duplicated, I looked high and low for previous discussion on this.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by SevenSidedDie dnd-5e Nov 8 '18 at 5:05

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I've edited your post to remove the second question. We have a One Question per Post policy. Feel free to ask the other question in a separate question. \$\endgroup\$ – linksassin Nov 8 '18 at 4:21
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Heavily related: Can I use a spell with a casting time of “Bonus Action” as my action? \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Nov 8 '18 at 4:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie While this question likely arose from a question about using two bonus actions, this specific question has a different answer than the potential duplicate. Would that not mean that it isn't actually a duplicate? \$\endgroup\$ – Chris Starnes Nov 8 '18 at 5:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ChrisStarnes Am I misunderstanding something? The answers appear to be the same to me. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Nov 8 '18 at 5:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie For the general case, they are the same, but as my answer shows, the specific case of hex and Hexblade's Curse can be used in 1 round of combat with a ring of spell storing and a familiar. \$\endgroup\$ – Chris Starnes Nov 8 '18 at 5:53
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, you only get one bonus action per turn

The only way to use both Hex and Hexblade's Curse at the same time is if you had cast one on a previous turn.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Generally, no

You only get one bonus action per turn and you cannot use your action to do something that takes a bonus action. There are no spells, feats, or class features that can bypass this restriction.

With find familiar and a ring of spell storing, probably

If you have the find familiar spell (PHB, p. 240) and a ring of spell storing (DMG, p. 192), your familiar can attune to and use the ring. You just need to cast the hex spell into the ring before combat, and then the familiar can cast it for you in the same round that you use Hexblade's Curse. As written, the familiar "rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn", but most DMs I have played with prefer to let it act on your turn.

This is somewhat up to DM discretion, as it isn't clear if an owl or lizard can wear a ring (but an octopus probably can). If this becomes a problem, ask your DM if any of the special familiars - imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite - granted by Pact of the Chain (PHB, p. 107) would work.

As a Thief Rogue 17 / Hexblade 1, yes

Thief's Reflexes

When you reach 17th level, you have become adept at laying ambushes and quickly escaping danger. You can take two turns during the first round of any combat. You take your first turn at your normal initiative and your second turn at your initiative minus 10. You can't use this feature when you are surprised.

PHB, p. 97, emphasis mine

This 17th-level Thief Rogue ability will allow you to use two bonus actions in the same round (though not in the same turn).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ That was very insightful, actually helps with other ideas as well. Appreciate it. \$\endgroup\$ – Josh Robinson Nov 8 '18 at 5:02
3
\$\begingroup\$

You cannot use your action to perform a bonus action

So, no. AFAIK while there are ways to get additional actions (e.g. Fighter's Action Surge) there is nothing that will give you additional bonus actions.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.