Is it Adventurers League legal for a halfling ranger to use the Pteranodon as an animal companion in Eberron where halflings routinely ride dinosaurs?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Hello and welcome! You can take the tour for a quick site intro (and a badge!). The dnd-5e tag has been added to the question to note the system used. Happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Sdjz
    Nov 8, 2018 at 16:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie just as a note, the above comment concerning Eberron appears to be incorrect. They have indeed released Eberron AL rules now here. Given that, I'm not sure further clarification is needed. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 8, 2018 at 19:38

1 Answer 1


Yes, per RAW a ranger can have pteranodon as his/her animal companion.

The two prerequisites for a ranger's animal companion are (PHB page 93):

"... a beast that is no larger than Medium [emphasis mine] and has a challenge rating [CR] of 1/4 [emphasis mine] or lower..."

A pteranodon satisfies both of those requirements.

Also relevant to address the AL part of your question is this quote from the AL FAQ v8.2 on page 6:

Creatures with complete stat blocks found in the Monster Manual and other resources listed in the ALCC are available for use with class features such as Wild Shape, Beast Companion [emphasis mine], and various conjure spells, keeping in mind that your Dungeon Master is the final arbiter for the rules, such as determining whether or not your character has satisfied requirements such as those imposed upon you by your class (such as the druid’s requirement to have seen the beast in question).

Per this reference, you may certainly use the Monster Manual as a legal resource and the pteranodon from it as your companion. It would also appear that there are no class requirements imposed by the ranger's Beast Companion ability that you must meet to select it.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Correction I was wrong about Eberron. I had not realized it was released yet. You have to go here for the full rules, not just the FAQ. If there is no further restriction there, it might be helpful to note that using this familiar would be their PHB+1 source. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 8, 2018 at 19:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I have updated your answer with the current wording of the rule from the current FAQ. I don't know why WotC continues to link to an old version, but the only current versions now are only ever on the DMsguild (in the link in my comment above). I don't think it changes your answer substantially. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 8, 2018 at 20:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Great answer! You may want to include that they'll likely need an exotic saddle to ride one. \$\endgroup\$
    – NotArch
    Nov 8, 2018 at 20:42

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .