3
\$\begingroup\$

If I level up my eidolon's ride skill, can I have it ride into battle?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Assuming you're talking about a bipedal eidolon, and not a "humanoid" eidolon:

According to the PFSRD any points in ride describe a creature that is "skilled at riding mounts, usually a horse, but possibly something more exotic, like a griffon or pegasus. If you attempt to ride a creature that is ill suited as a mount, you take a –5 penalty on your Ride checks."

It stands to reason that any creature with a ride skill would be able to ride a mount. The logistics of a limbless being, (for example, an aquatic eidolon base form) would be worse at it, but the exact nature of it seems to be up to the DM.

I would rule as a house rule that creatures without arms would have a -5 to all ride checks, minimum, but I can't find any evidence of something like this being official.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.