4
\$\begingroup\$

I'm trying to make my own character sheet but I'm lost. One of the main characters is already a high elf; does that mean I can't be one?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by Jason_c_o, V2Blast, Purple Monkey, A_S00, KorvinStarmast Nov 10 '18 at 2:46

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi there! Do you have access to the Player's Handbook, or other published material? Is there a reason you believe there can't be more than one of a race in any given party? While you here, have you checked out the tour? It will help you get oriented with the Stack :) \$\endgroup\$ – Jason_c_o Nov 9 '18 at 23:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ no actually, i just got told to make a character sheet and i thought since he was a main character, others couldn't be from the same race. i've never done this before so i will definitely check it out. thank you for your help Jason_c_o \$\endgroup\$ – bit_of_a_dummy Nov 9 '18 at 23:44
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you playing the most recent edition (D&D 5e, with a player's handbook that looks like this) or another? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Nov 9 '18 at 23:55
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ What do you mean by "main character"? \$\endgroup\$ – Draco18s Nov 10 '18 at 1:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ If I may quote a very famous line in the swords and sorcery movie Highlander ... there can be only one! Also, who has told you that there is a main character? \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Nov 10 '18 at 2:50
15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can still be a high elf.

Dungeons & Dragons characters aren't expected to be unique in every facet in any edition I can think of: you can have two high elves, or even a party of all high elves if that's what you all want to do.

Different races can bring new features to the group it doesn't already have access to, so that's something to consider, but wouldn't prevent you from sharing the same race as someone else.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe also mention something about the “main character” thing in the question. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Nov 10 '18 at 0:01
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie I'm not actually sure what I would/should mention about that. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Nov 10 '18 at 0:57

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.